Skip to content

Betty and Pearl’s Adventures in Brighton

June 1, 2010

I’ve just returned from an amazing weekend visiting my best friend in Brighton. For anyone who has never been there, go. Now. It’s  a fantastic city with a great laid-back atmosphere and filled with lovely and creative people. And it’s filled with fabric shops and vintage finds! I know I’ve added the link before but Fabricland, as unimpressive as the website may look, is great for good quality, better price fabrics (only £2-3 per metre!), and I always make a point of popping in whenever I’m visiting. I had a lovely time as usual, and it was great to spend time with one of my favourite people and her lovely friends. The weekend was filled with daisy chains, wandering the lanes, a lot of laughter and fun and not getting home until 4, 5 and 6 in the morning. Perfect.

Speaking of creative Brighton people, one to watch at the moment is the fabulous Julius Quinn Arthur of House of Quinn. His Death Becomes Her collection will soon be shown at the Berlin Fashion Week in July, and I can tell you now, he is going to be huge. Having already been hailed as the new Alexander McQueen his dark and cutting edge imaginings are just miles ahead of the rest of the pack. I urge you to check out his designs at the link above. You will be blown away.

Finally there will hopefully be some Betty and Pearl developments soon. I’m not counting my chickens just yet, but I have great feelings and things are looking pretty good so far. I’ve finished a new range of bags which I’ll post photos of later on, and I’ve been experimenting with a new product – upholstered notebooks, featuring lace, ribbons, and old prints and photographs. I made one as a gift for my best friend when I went to visit and I really liked how it came out. I think, depending on what you put in them, notebooks and diaries can be so unique and personal and it’s nice to find ones that will reflect that from the outside in. All thoughts and suggestions on this are more than welcome. I’d love any and all opinions on it!

Possible new addition to the Betty and Pearl range??

Jenny xx

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2010 15:09

    that red dress is amazing!!! Even though my favorite color is pink, I love blue toned perfect reds…they take my breath away 🙂

  2. June 14, 2010 15:12

    Oh me too. I will not be caught outside my house without red lipstick any day of the week!

Leave a Reply

