Skip to content

Make Your Own…

June 14, 2010

A few weeks ago I put up a link for the Instructables website, which is full of great, quirky and weird tutorials on how to make just about everything. I’ve spent my morning trawling through the many sewing pages and found several of the oddest and in many ways most useful ones! (Some of you may differ in your interpretation of the word “useful”.)

1. Make your own Snuggie blanket:

At this stage most of you will be familiar with the Snuggie blanket, as parodied on YouTube. Oh we scoffed and laughed but be honest, didn’t most of us secretly think “Well now, that is a great invention!”? As the winter months approached and the temperature dropped, it seemed like more and more of a good idea, when suddenly, not only were they commonplace, there were budget versions! One of my friends owns a real bonafide Snuggie, while I am the proud owner of the Penney’s interpretation…in fact I bought three! One for me, one for my housemate at the time, and one for guests. That’s right. A guest slanket. In fact they were so popular that they seemed to sell out in seconds! If you were one of the poor unfortunates who did not manage to get your hands on one, worry no more! It may be June but it’s never too early to be prepared. Make your very own custom Snuggie-style blanket with the following instructions, and you too can spend the cold winter months snuggled up like a flamboyant monk!

http://www.instructables.com/id/Make-Your-Own-Snuggie/

You too could look as cool as this man.

2. Make your own human cell:

Let’s face it. Plush versions of generally non-plush objects are always fun. As I mentioned previously, I recently crocheted a stuffed sperm for the lab in the medical clinic I work in, which now has pride of place in the office! No matter how strange or grotesque something is in real life, once it’s made out of felt or wool, it automatically becomes as cute as a neuron-shaped button! Follow the link to make your own mostly anatomically correct human cell, complete with neuron, mitochondria and golgi aparatus!

http://www.instructables.com/id/Plush-Cell-Model/

Pictured: Science

3. Make your own cleavage caddy:

This was first brought to my attention while reading my friend Louise’s blog. We’ve all been there (all the bra-wearing ones among us anyway!). You’re out for the night, none of your bags go with your outfit or the one that does is too small to actually carry all the things you need, and so the only option falls to storing all your valuables in your bra. We’ve all done it, there’s no shame…except when it comes to having to rifle down your chest at the bar looking for that extra 10c you need. All of a sudden, instead of the 1940s-style moll you originally intended to emulate, you’re reduced to being that girl groping herself for spare change. You never want to be that girl. And so the Cleavage Caddy was born! It comes in a wide variety of colours and allows you to discretely store money, keys and phone in the easy-to-reach comfort of your own chest! And of course, with all ground-breaking inventions (well, some ground breaking inventions) some clever people have come up with how to make your very own at home!

http://www.instructables.com/id/Bra-Bag/

I really don't know how this was never invented earlier...

4. How to make your own giant moustache:

My friends and I are big fans of a good old-fashioned games night. Every once in a while, we’ll break out Cranium, Discovering Europe or Family Fortune: The Home Version and get more competitive than these things ever call for! When Family Fortunes is cracked open, my friend Sarah always takes it upon herself to play the host…Les Dennis specifically, complete with accent and fake moustache, despite the real Les not actually having one himself! It has of course given her trouble in the past, particularly when it comes to trying to take a drink from her beer can (I really don’t know how Tom Sellick does it!), but she perseveres. In honour of Sarah, Les and moustachinados everywhere, here is a tutorial on making your very own giant moustache. Not only is it a wonderful everyday accessory, but let us not forget that Movember is only 5 short months away!

http://www.instructables.com/id/Handsew-a-giant-stuffed-moustache/

I know several people who would find this very useful.

6. How to make a leather steampunk tophat:

In fairness…this is just too cool not to include! I generally cannot wear hats with any kind of conviction but I would break my own rules for this baby!

http://www.instructables.com/id/Leather-Steampunk-Top-Hat/

Team this with the moustache above to create the perfect disguise!

Jenny xx

31 Comments leave one →
  1. Raul permalink
    June 14, 2010 14:18

    Very useful things to make!! I have to check that site out!!

    http://wutevs.wordpress.com/2009/02/20/the-gimmick-dupe/

  2. June 14, 2010 14:28

    very clever creations! The hat is simply kool.

  3. June 14, 2010 14:36

    Isn’t it! It has single-handedly made me want to learn how to work with leather!

  4. June 14, 2010 14:48

    Fun post! Thanks for sharing.

  5. June 14, 2010 14:54

    هي الايام

  6. June 14, 2010 14:57

    Hmm…I don’t know of any leather sources at the moment, but Etsy is generally good for most supplies, I know I’ve seen sheets of different coloured leathers on there before!
    http://www.etsy.com/

    Tempusflits – No problem, thanks for reading!
    xx

  7. June 14, 2010 15:06

    I might just have to make the common-law Mrs. Codger one of those cleavage caddies for her birthday. She’s always misplacing her keys.

    The Codger
    http://thecodger.wordpress.com/

  8. Michelle Brown permalink
    June 14, 2010 15:21

    The cleavage caddy is quite interesting. “Seriously?” was my first reaction. But the usefulness of it is kind of superseding my incredulousness

  9. June 14, 2010 15:31

    I know, I feel like it may be another Snuggie-esqe innovation!

  10. PeacockWings permalink
    June 14, 2010 16:17

    i love the cleavage caddy!

  11. June 14, 2010 17:43

    Crafty things that make me laugh (the Cleavage Caddy!!) What a great way to start the week…thanks for sharing all this.

  12. June 14, 2010 18:28

    No problem, thanks for looking!

  13. June 14, 2010 18:39

    welcome good profile

  14. June 14, 2010 18:41

    What utterly mad, fantastic, delicicious things!

  15. June 14, 2010 19:35

    Haha! Amazing! I am using my bra always for battery storage on small-crew docu shoots without assistant…
    …will have to find someone to make me a caddy – much more comfy!!

  16. Aida Santos permalink
    June 14, 2010 21:44

    very good 🙂

  17. June 15, 2010 01:14

    Love the cleavage caddy!

  18. June 15, 2010 04:45

    PERFECT! Instructables saves the day!
    My daughter and I are scrambling to make something for Father’s Day!
    Erm…yeah, I didn’t realize it was coming up so quickly.
    Luckily my mother-in-law is a great artists/crafter and I’m a really good crafter.

  19. June 15, 2010 05:56

    Your descriptions on this site are simply hilarious! From the “you too can dress up like a flamboyant monk” to creating a “stuffed sperm,” I was in stitches! (no pun intended, actually, when I typed that…)

  20. Songbird permalink
    June 15, 2010 07:49

    Hey I’m all for the snuggie!! Thanks for posting these- these are great!

  21. June 15, 2010 08:38

    I ❤ the steam punk hat. All I need now is a monocle.

  22. June 15, 2010 09:29

    Thanks so much for the comments everyone! x

  23. June 15, 2010 10:46

    cool!!!!

  24. shesmyhusband permalink
    June 15, 2010 13:13

    That giant mustache would look great on my couch…lol.

  25. June 15, 2010 16:18

    its funny than my life
    http://vizakh.wordpress.com/

  26. June 16, 2010 01:20

    Hmmm…now I’m thinking…
    Thanks for the post!

  27. June 16, 2010 03:39

    Great! cool and creative hat…….nice one

  28. October 5, 2011 19:33

    Nice creations,specially this cool hat.

Trackbacks

  1. Ladies…in need of another pocket book or purse? « Coreys Views
  2. Snap(cap) Happy « Betty & Pearl

Leave a Reply

