Skip to content

Wrecking My Head(piece)

June 17, 2010

My aunt is getting married next week in Ballycotton in Cork, and asked me to create a bridal bag and headpiece for her big day. The bag was easy enough. It is what I do after all! I went with white silk to match her dress, adorned with a large, loose bow of the same materials and finished with pearls and peach swarovski crystals to match her summery bouquet. The headpiece though is a different story.

"Get Me To The Church" wedding bag

The closest I’ve ever come to making anything similar are small hair bows, and, as I’ve mentioned before, I’m not really a hat person (I have a lot of hair. Hat hair would not look good). My solution, as it always is, was to trawl the internet looking for inspiration. There are some absolutely BEAUTIFUL pieces out there, it’s crazy. Potty But Posh, based in Cork is pretty amazing. Her rose-petal band is absolutely stunning, and is actually one of the few pieces I think I could wear without looking ridiculous! No small feat! Her head pieces are a vailable from Miss Daisy Blue in Cork, and I think she might also do custom items as well. Zara Carpenter on Etsy also has some gorgeous pieces that look like they’re straight out of a fairytale. The Enchanting White Rose Gazebo hat, the So Very Decadent Sea Pearl Ship, and the Too Too Cute Bambi hat are particular favourites, and she also does giant hairbows, which, as should be obvious by the amount I use in my own work, I’m a big fan of! Yes, I know, I strayed slightly from wedding-themed stuff there, but look how pretty they are! To get back on track though, I really like vintage style pieces like this veiled beauty from Fascinating Creations and the simple, but effective Large Rose Headband from Be Something New.

The Hula Girl hat by Zara Carpenter

 So now after my journey through what the internet has to offer, I have a few ideas which will hopefully compliment the bag, the dress and the bride…and if that doesn’t work, I’ll just have to dole out the compliments myself to make up for it! Bud-um-bum-tssssh…no? Ok, fine, to make up for that terrible joke, here’s a tutorial on how to make your very own headpiece! Oh and F.Y.I., they also have a great tutorial on how to make vintage-style hats!

 Jenny xx

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

