Skip to content

Costumes and corsets and prosthetic chins…oh my!

May 20, 2011

No, fine people of the internet, your eyes do not deceive you. May has in fact brought a THIRD visit from me to Blogland.

You may have read my previous post where I briefly mentioned awaiting news of my soon-to-be, hope-to-Jesus, escape from my day job in medical administration, and on Tuesday I finally got the news that I’ve been officially accepted to do a two year costume design course in Dublin, starting in September…I get to make crowns!

I am gonna look flyyyy...

I’m very happy and very excited about the whole thing. Despite the obvious intrinsic value I get from my job processing red tape and restocking scan gel, I came to the not-so-shocking realisation a few months ago, that life is just too short to spend doing something you have little to no interest in. Generally, I’ve been pretty sensible and practical in my life decisions thus far. I got a good Leaving Cert, I got a good Psychology degree, and I got jobs that allowed me to pay my rent and have my fun while I figured out exactly what to do with the aforementioned degree. The only problem was that I could never quite work out exactly what that was, and as 2008 became 2009 became 2010, etc. I have to admit getting a little bit worried about why exactly I couldn’t see any kind of clear picture of a future for myself.

Eep.

It was only about 6 months ago that I figured out that maybe the reason I couldn’t reach any kind of decision about what to do with my degree, was because maybe it wasn’t right at all, at least not for right now. And strangely enough, as soon as I decided to apply for the course, and actually made up my mind to pursue it as a career, it all seemed to just fall into place. I am now happy to say that I can, in fact, picture myself a few years down the line, covered in pin pricks, surrounded by fabric and up to my eyes in corsets and wigs. Huzzah!

Pictured: The future.

It may not be the smartest, safest or financially wisest move I ever make, but right now I’m pretty certain it’s the right one for me. And sure, if I’m not going to get a job anyway with our economy the way it is, I may as well not get a job in something I actually love! Carpe diem and all that jazz!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 20:48

    Damn right! When can you make me one of these?
    http://bit.ly/ihf2VY

  2. May 20, 2011 21:19

    Oh well, something as simple as that I’m sure will be covered in the introductory classes. Halloween. We’ll say Halloween. Although it is awfully similar to a few things you already have isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

